The Knife’s Bloody Valentine

June 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

I just went down the list of all the songs on my iTunes. I created a playlist of all the songs that you’ve recommended to me. It equates to 15.5 hours, or 1.58 gb, of songs.

I’m not sure why I did it, but I was finishing up watching this show (that I’m pretty sure you would find hilarious). I was reading some things online for a bit and started to get tired. My roommate is with a guy in the living room and I don’t want to hear them talking.

I feel like I’m eavesdropping because my apartment is so small that I can hear everything they are saying without even trying. So you can imagine how distracting that would be while trying to go to sleep. Plus, they haven’t kissed yet, and I really don’t want to over hear it when they do. I also have to go to the bathroom for the third time since he’s been here but I don’t want to get up because I’d have to walk past them and I feel like I’m interrupting.

So I opened my iTunes to play some songs to drown out her giggles and his deep man voice.

I couldn’t decide what to listen to (like usual these days, for some unfortunate reason which I can’t figure out), so I start scrolling through my library. I have a “Post Rock” playlist that I made a while back. It has a lot of songs you recommended to me, but with some others that I have learned about recently. The title of the playlist actually includes the quotation marks, because I thought I was being ironic at the time. Ironic because now people refer to a lot of things as “Post Rock” that aren’t actually Post Rock. A lot of songs/bands that should actually be considered within their own sub-set of music are increasingly being lumped into some “Post Rock” category and it makes me a little bit sad.

I then remembered why I made that playlist called “Post Rock” a while back. It had started with All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone by Explosions in the Sky. It sounded like lullabies and as soon as it was over I was craving more songs just like it. You had explained that Explosions in the Sky was Post Rock, and said I should also check out Sigor Ros and The Appleseed Cast. Some time after that, you said something about the band M83 and their song Cyborg. So after Explosions in the Sky finished, M83 popped into my head and I put it on. That’s when I thought to make the “Post Rock” playlist a few months ago, and the list grew from there.

When I looked at that playlist tonight, I remembered that there are a lot of songs in there that were recommended by you, but that there are also a couple recommended by this guy I had met recently (through Missed Connections, which is a great story. Perhaps I can tell you it sometime). The guy turned out to be a strange breed of douche bag and I wasn’t in the mood to listen to songs that were recommended by him.

But I wanted to listen to the Post Rock songs you had recommended. As I started looking for those songs, I decided I wanted to listen to all the songs I had that you recommended. I wanted to put them all in a pile and see what they made all together.

I began going through my whole library, remembering things about each of the songs like: who suggested the band, or what mood I’m usually in when I listen to them.

I sorted out all of the songs I could positively identify as being there as a direct result of something you said.

In the end, it turned out to be 17.3 hours, or 1.77 gb, of songs (I remembered a few more as I was writing this letter which I hadn’t originally put in the playlist).

I’m listening to the playlist now.

A song from the CocoRosie Daytrotter session is on. I’m trying to proof read this letter and keep getting wonderfully distracted by her voice and the crazy beatbox that is happening behind it. It’s a lovely and unexpected combination of “gritty and raw” with “refined and sophisticated” – one of the more seamless integrations of those two seemingly-opposite sets of adjectives that I have experienced in a while.

I appreciate your contribution to my music library.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Knife’s Bloody Valentine at Unsubstantiation.

meta

